A Weight Loss Journey – Starting Over Again

After failing miserably last year, I’m starting this journey anew for 2017. A new approach, a renewed drive and more determination than last year. I promised myself that I would be in the best shape of my life by the time I turned 30 years old. Well… 30 has come and is almost gone and I’m staring 31 in the face. This time around I’m making sure I have everything I need to succeed. FAILURE IS NOT AN OPTION.

I keep trying to think about why I’m doing this. I read that its important to know your main motivator so you can reflect on it periodically, especially when you’re tired and discouraged. Do I want to look better than my peers? Do I want to just be healthy? Or am I trying to keep looking good so my husband’s eyes don’t wander? To be honest, I think I’m doing this because I’ve always been told that being overweight is inevitable for me. Big women run in my family, so I was always told that one day soon I won’t fall too far from the family tree. The very thought of that scares me to death and I’m trying to stop bad habits now before my health forces me to do so later. I also want to look good, feel good, and keep my husband’s eyes from wandering.

Methods

My biggest change for this year is that I’m going to be vegan. At least for 30 days. This will jump start my healthy eating journey and allow me to learn new recipes and new ways of cooking old favorites. I’ll be sure to post some of these new creations, once I perfect them. If I perfect them.

For exercise, I’ve purchased a spin bike. This will allow me to do some low impact cardio which will destroy the fat around my mid-section…hopefully. I’ll do an online spin class for 45 minutes 5 days a week.

I will also incorporate weight lifting, alternating between upper body and lower body five days a week. On the weekends, I’ll do a high intensity workout on Saturdays and stretching and Pilates on Sundays. I want to make sure I’m doing something EVERYDAY but varying in intensity so my body doesn’t digress.

I’ll post my progress once a week. Happy exercising and healthy eating!

 

