Food Lovers Weight Loss Journey – Day 5,6 and 7

Hello everyone! I know I haven’t been posting over the last couple of days. I want you all to know that I haven’t quit. I’ve still  been sticking to my workouts and my diet, I’ve just been so tired when I get home from work that I fall right asleep after making dinner. Here’s a recap of the last couple of days.

Day 5

Day 5 was on Friday. For my strength training I had to focus on shoulders, which is a body part that I can honestly say I’ve never focused on in my entire life. It was a nice workout. It got my heart rate up, a nice sweat going and I learned that as you workout your shoulders it can make your arms look more shapely and toned so I’ll definitely continue to make this a staple in my strength training.

During my work day there was a lot of free food available after a conference and of course that food included lots of pasta. I have to say that I gave in. I ate some chicken and broccoli pasta and one stuffed shell and it was DELICIOUS! I switched my “cheat day” from Saturday to Friday, to justify my actions. I don’t really eat that much on the weekends anyway so I made it work. I also ate a light dinner to make sure I didn’t go over my caloric intake for the day.

There’s nothing wrong with a little cheating every now and then. The key is to not go too crazy and to make sure you cut back in other areas so everything balances out by the end of the day.

For my cardio I had the Lower Focus DVD of the T25 series. This is literally a whole lot of squats, lunges, more squats, more lunges and a few more squats just in case your butt and legs weren’t in enough pain. The best part about this workout is that you’re dripping in sweat after the first 10 minutes. It really gets your heart rate up without a lot of jumping around.

I was so happy by the end of the day because according to the Body Beast schedule I got to rest from strength training on Saturday and only had to worry about my T25 workout.

Day 6

Day 6 was Saturday and I was happy that I only had to workout once. I had the T25 cardio workout, which once again, get’s the heart rate going and works your entire body. It was nice because I had a very light breakfast, a light lunch and a lot of vegetables for dinner so it was a very good day. I did cheat a little bit by eating a little mac n cheese but only in moderation.

Day 7

Today I got to rest from T25 and only had to work Chest and Triceps for my strength training. I’ve come full circle, completing all of the workouts for the week and the majority for both the T25 and Body Beast series, at least for the next couple of weeks until I move on to phase II.

Lesson’s Learned

After completing a full week, and not allowing myself to skip any workouts, I’ve learned that (1) you can work through soreness. Over my last few posts all I did was complain about soreness, but as I pressed on I worked through it and now I have a light amount of soreness but nothing compared to the last couple of days. I feel a lot better, a little stronger and my endurance has improved. Also, waking up early has slowly become a habit. I’m usually wide awake at 5:00am and have gotten to the point where I actually look forward to my workout… sort of.

(2) Sleep is vitally important and is not something you’ll have to work hard to incorporate into a routine. As you workout more your body is going to force you to go to sleep. You’ll be so tired that you’ll look forward to going to bed like no other time in your life. Before I started this journey, 11:00PM was when I started thinking about going to bed, now if I’m not in bed by 10:00PM I’m fast asleep on the couch.

(3) Eating better makes you feel better. I haven’t had any fried foods, no sugary drinks or snacks, no bread, a lot more water and vegetables, more fruit and I’ve been taking my vitamins regularly. I feel so much more clear headed, my sleep is better, I have more energy, working out is a little easier, my endurance during my workouts is better and I’ve noticed that as more and more people in my office are starting to get sick, I’ve been able to avoid what’s going around, no doubt because my immune system is stronger. You literally are what you eat.

(4) Bad foods are not as appetizing. I thought that the longer you stay away from bad foods, once you finally get a hold of them you would enjoy them more than ever. That wasn’t my experience. Eating that pasta on my cheat day tasted good, but it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be and it wasn’t because of the way the food was prepared. I felt guilty, knowing that this cheese was going to set me back a little bit. I couldn’t really enjoy it, which is ok. It kept me from going overboard. But going forward I know I won’t be satisfied with any “cheat foods” until 4 months from now when I’ve reached my goals and I can really celebrate.

For now, I’m happy I was able to complete a full week of workouts, while sticking to my diet. This all may seem overwhelming at first, but if you take it one day at a time, one meal at a time and one workout at a time, you’ll be in shape before you know it. Look at the soreness as a prerequisite. Once you work through it and pass the test everything after that, while still being challenging, won’t be painful and you can begin the satisfying process of watching your body change for the better.

#body-beast, #eating-better, #shaun-t, #t25, #weight-loss-2, #working-out