Food Lovers Weight Loss Journey – Day 2

I was literally so tired last night that I couldn’t write a post, which is why I’m posting this morning.

Working out is so easy when all you have to do is workout. But when you throw your real job, house cleaning, cooking for the family, Bible study and other meetings into the mix, it gets harder and harder everyday to stick to your resolve and your schedule.

I woke up a little later (around 6:00am) to do my strength training. The focus was legs and I’m feeling it from the waist down. My calves, thighs and butt are so sore! I’m walking around like I’ve been in a car accident and I have to take a deep breath before I go up the stairs. It hurts to stand or walk, it hurts to sit, it hurts to lay down and it even hurts to go to the bathroom. But somehow I was able to work through the soreness and gear up for my cardio workout.

After work I had to get ready for Bible Study so I ate a healthy snack (Life cereal), changed clothes and was out the door. I didn’t get home until 9:45pm but I didn’t want to miss any workouts, keeping my promise to get through this week without any slip ups. I popped in the T25 Speed 1.0 DVD. This cardio is intense but is mixed in with stretching for a brief cool down throughout the workout. I’m happy to say that I’ve done this in the past and stumbled and bumbled through it, but this time I was able to keep going without stopping which is an absolute first. That means my endurance is increasing which is a good thing.

Cravings

Let’s talk about cravings. I’ve gone two full days with no bread, cheese, desserts, sugary drinks (I’ve only been drinking water and almond milk), pork, beef, turkey, or sliced deli meats. I WANT SOME FETTUCCINE ALFREDO, GARLIC BREAD AND PEACH MANGO TEA!!! I WANT SOME LASAGNA WITH A LOT OF RICOTTA CHEESE!!! AND I WANT SOME CUPCAKES!!! I digress. I try not to think about what I can’t eat but focus on what I can. I successfully stuck to my diet. I had my oatmeal, had a nice low-fat chicken salad wrap and some vegetable soup, a banana, an apple, some almonds and some cereal. I was never hungry throughout the day which is very important. Don’t let yourself get hungry! Hunger pains will weaken your resolve.

If you want some more tips to curb your cravings, check out this link: http://www.cnn.com/2014/10/28/health/dailyburn-how-to-stop-food-cravings/

For me, I’ve found that whenever I’m craving something I shouldn’t eat I reach for a few almonds. They seem to curb not only the craving but my appetite as well. Drinking plenty of water helps too. You’re usually too full to eat anything.

Nutrition

In logging my foods, I’ve confirmed that I need to take a good multi-vitamin to ensure I get all of the nutrients needed to reach my goals. I’ve started taking Alive. For some reason I always opt for liquid vitamins as I feel they are absorbed better than pills. This isn’t backed by any research, it’s just how I feel. So I take half a cap full of Alive in the morning. WARNING: This stuff is disgustingly nasty. I mean it’s worse than any cough medicine you’ve ever tried. But I feel like its effective so I keep taking it.

Alive

The MyFitness App has also shown me that I don’t get a regular amount of iron every day. So I’ve started taking iron supplements.

Iron

Actually, I’ve been taking these for a while now (about 2 months) and I’ve never experienced the constipation and stomach troubles that regular iron supplements cause. Also, my energy levels are a lot better.

All in all it’s been a challenging couple of days but as Frederick Douglas said “If there is no struggle, there is no progress”. I look forward to reaping the rewards of my hard work and diligence.

 

 

#body-beast, #diet, #exercise-2, #exercise-goals, #losing-weight, #shaun-t, #weight-loss-2