A Food Lovers Weight Loss Journey – Day 1

One down and only one hundred and twenty-five more days to go. Today was the epitome of The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly. Here’s why…

The Good

My workouts went as planned. I got up at approximately 5:15AM and completed my strength training and after work I completed my cardio.

Today my strength training focused on chest and triceps and believe me when I say my triceps need a lot of work. It was a lot of push ups, something I’m not particularly good at, tricep dips, and a whole lot of technical weight lifting jargon that I can’t remember. The point is I got it done.

This afternoon I had to do the T25 Cardio DVD and it really gets your heart rate going. I was sweating puddles after just 10 minutes and by the time I reached the full 25 minutes I was ready to lay down and take a nap. The thing about Shaun T’s workouts is that they are fun. He really mixes up the moves so you don’t get bored, but they take a lot of commitment to complete.

I stuck to my diet today as well. I refrained from my forbidden foods and ate my healthy planned breakfast, lunch and snacks. I also met my goals for the required caloric and water intake, as specified by the MyFitnessPal App. When I went to the break room to prepare my lunch there was a huge plate of chocolate chunk brownies sitting right next to the refrigerator. But I looked at them and said “get behind me Satan!” and went on about my business.

Brownies

The Bad

I feel like crap. My chest is really sore, my back hurts, my shoulders feel like they’re going to fall off and I can barely lift my arms to type. It’s so true when they say if you don’t use your muscles you’ll lose them. I think my muscles are mad at me for putting them through this torture. However, I’m determined to keep on going so I took a hot bath, slathered on some Tiger Balm and said a prayer. I’ll need God’s help to keep this up.

The Ugly

There’s nothing more hurtful than the truth. I thought I was doing so well today until I looked at the nutrition log on my fitness app. Take a look at the pic below. Do you see the areas highlighted in red? That’s where I went wrong today and the main concern is my sodium. I mentioned in my first post that I’m trying to avoid high blood pressure and heart disease and a high sodium diet is the main culprit for these disorders. I literally ate oatmeal, salad, some chicken breast, soup, yogurt and nuts and I went over my recommended sodium intake. After looking deeper at the nutritional facts, it seems that soup and salad dressings are very high in sodium so I’ll have to watch this tomorrow. I read that although most people can have about 2,300mg of sodium a day, African Americans are recommended to have only 1,500mg due to the high rate of high blood pressure cases. I’m just going to focus on getting to 2,300 for now.

MyFitnessPal

Well, I’m absolutely exhausted and the only thing I have to look forward to is doing the same thing tomorrow. My small term goal is to complete a week without any slip ups. So far, I’m on the right track.

#body-beast, #diet, #exercise-2, #nutrition, #shaun-t, #soreness, #t25, #weight-loss-2