A Food Lovers Weight Loss Journey – The Last Last Supper

A Slight Setback

Oh the dreaded setback. How I loathe thee!

Okay people, here’s the scoop, I had a little setback today. I hate starting things on Sunday. Honestly, it’s hard to start anything on Sunday, because… well… it’s Sunday. You want to relax, enjoy a nice spiritual day and enjoy some nice soul food before going back to working for “The Man” on Monday morning. I guess it’s a cultural thing but there’s nothing like some fried chicken, mac and cheese, collard greens and sweet potato pie on a Sunday afternoon after a good spiritual feeding. HOW I LOVE SOUL FOOD!!!

soulfood

Anyway, since I’ve already slid off the wagon, my official start date is Monday, October 26th. I’m going to enjoy the rest of this day, capping it off with my last cup of ice cream. I’m okay sliding off the wagon a little bit, because I’m not trying to be the next Miss America (as if a black woman could be Miss America anyway). I have my fitness goals but I also don’t want to become a robot that doesn’t enjoy life. Don’t forget that life is a gift and a little sweet potato pie never killed anyone. The key is moderation. As long I get back on the wagon I’ll be okay, but this time I’ll strap on a seat belt or something.

Bad Associations Spoil Useful Habits

Today I heard a spiritual talk based around 1 Corinthians 15:33 which mentions the importance of watching your association. My mom used to recite this scripture to me every time I wanted to go to a party or do something unchristian like. Well, believe me when I say that this applies to every aspect of life. If you’re going to reach any goal it’s important to surround yourself with people that will assist you with reaching that goal. My husband is officially bad association. I love him dearly, but his love of french toast sticks, Welch’s fruit snacks and ginger beer is really messing up my resolve. My mother used to say “you can put on a clean white shirt and play in the mud but you’ll never make the mud clean” and she is so right. I know I’ll never be able to change my husbands eating habits, and I know there are times when I’ll have to cook or buy him the very items that I’m striving to avoid. But like I said in my last post, it’s important to continue to meditate on the reason why you’re doing this in the first place. I didn’t do that today (don’t judge me) but going forward this will be my life line.

Preparation

I read somewhere that it’s important to plan your meals ahead of time so you have a few good go to meals and snacks to get you through the day.  I’ve always hated doing this and have avoided it for years, but I’ve seen how I get at work when I’m hungry and don’t have a healthy snack plan B. I head straight to the vending machine for some Cheetos, Cheez-its, nacho cheese Doritos or anything else cheesy (I love cheese). So I’ve packed some oatmeal for tomorrow’s breakfast (Quaker Instant Oatmeal Packs – 150 calories), I bought some apples for a snack and have salad for lunch. Almonds are a good energizing snack for that “i can’t wait to get out of here and go home” syndrome that always seems to hit me at work around 2-3pm. If’ I’m still hungry I have some Oikos yogurt for an emergency.

Tracking

I’ve downloaded the MyFitnessPal app to track my calories. I’ve avoided using this in the past because when you have to log your calories it’s like reporting to the IRS. You know when you owe and when you’ll receive a nice tax return and I usually owe. I hate when I’ve eaten something  that I know will put me over my recommended caloric intake for the day and have to see the red highlighted number and pop up reminding me that I’ve gone over my goal. It’s a necessary evil, because it holds me accountable for my decisions and actions. I highly recommend using it as it tracks your steps, you can log your exercise for the day and you can even track your nutrition. This is vital for anyone trying to reduce their sodium, cholesterol and/or fat.

The Last Last Supper

Well I’m off to enjoy this ice cream before I have to get up at 5am to begin this strenuous journey.  Till next time.

#exercise-2, #exercise-goals, #losing-weight, #weight-loss-2