A Food Lovers Weight Loss Journey – The Last Supper

Hello. My name is Heather and I love to eat. Anything with pasta, heavy cream, bread and cheese makes my heart melt and don’t get me started on Boston Cream Pie, Key Lime Pie or any kind of cake. To be honest I’m eating a couple of slices of pizza while I’m writing this blog entry, but this is my last day so I’m making the best of it. More to come on that later.

Here’s my problem. Although I love to eat, I need to lose some weight and get in shape and the two don’t really seem to go together very well. Hence, the need for this new journey. I’ve promised myself that by the time I turn 30 that I’ll be in the best shape of my life. Well, time flies when your eating good because I now have only 4 months to keep this promise. So to keep myself accountable I’ve started this blog to record my journey. This is really just going to be an outlet for me to post my triumphs, failures and frustrations. So there’s going to be a lot of ranting and raving, because like I said, I love to eat. I’ll also be sharing information I learn along the way as I do a lot of research whenever I set my mind to something.

Why Now?
In order to keep myself motivated I’ve read that it’s important to reflect on why you want to lose weight in the first place. That main motivator is going to be needed whenever an office party leaves you staring at a plate of glazed donuts, or when your mother bakes you a cake just because she loves you.
For me the main reason I want to get in shape is because I want to prove my father wrong. Big women tend to run in my family and throughout my entire life my father would tell me that I’m going to be just like them. Just so you know, he’s a little on the heavy side as well, so I guess the taunting throughout the years proves that misery loves company and I refuse to be a part of that company. I’m usually very good about watching my diet and exercising but I recently had surgery that didn’t allow me to workout for 6 weeks and let me tell you… it shows. I am not about to visit my parents in the Spring just to see the look of “I told you so” painted across my father’s face.

More importantly, diabetes, high blood pressure and heart disease run in my family. When I say these things run in my family, I mean they run throughout my entire immediate and distant family tree. Grandmothers on both sides, uncles, aunts, mother and cousins. At family gatherings they talk about their health problems as if they’re normal and they announce that someone else has “gotten the sugar” (we’re country folk so that means they have diabetes) like it’s a badge of honor. Everyone tends to look like it was inevitable in the first place and practically “welcomes them to the club”. These are the most deadly and preventable health problems plaguing Americans and I know that one day I’ll have to eat right and exercise anyway. So, I figure its better to get into the habit now instead of waiting until the doctor tells me I have diabetes and need insulin shots. I don’t want my grandmother to announce to the family that I now have “the sugar”.

Lastly, I enjoy working out. I enjoy sweating out my frustrations after a long day of work and I always sleep like a baby when I workout regularly. I miss that feeling of accomplishment after a long workout and I miss seeing my body gradually change from a Coca-Cola can to a Coca-Cola bottle.

The Goal
My goal is to lose 20 pounds in 4 months. According to the weight loss gurus, that is about 1-2 pounds a week, which is reasonable. However, I don’t just want to lose weight, I also want to tone some trouble spots that seem to run through the family bloodline. That includes my arms, lower belly, hips, thighs and butt… just to name a few.

Me Now and the Goal

The left is how I look now and the right is my goal. As I continue to look at the picture on the right I laugh inside because this is not going to be a fun journey.

The Regimen
In order to reach this level of fitness I’m going to have to do much more than 15 minutes of cardio 3 to 4 days a week as those old Nordic Track commercials would like you to believe. This is going to be torture. I absolutely hate going to the gym so I’ve purchased two at home workouts that will help me reach my goals. T25 and Body Beast.

Workouts

I’m going to get up early in the morning and focus on strength training with Body Beast. Don’t let the guy on the cover fool you, I’m not going to look like a body builder by the time I’ve finished this workout. There is a Lean Beast version that’s more for women that want to build lean toned bodies.

My cardio will come from T25 which is what I’ll do when I come home from work. This is a program put together by Shaun T. I find him to be motivating and it’s an interval training workout that’s optimal for fat burning, especially in those problem areas. If I can workout in the morning and in the evening I can really start to attack fat two ways; (1) by building muscle which helps to burn fat throughout the day, even when you’re resting, and (2) by burning fat through intense cardio interval training. I’ll be working out Monday through Saturday, while simply stretching and doing ab focused exercises on Sunday.

The Diet
I’m not going to lie, changing my eating habits is going to be harder than sticking to a workout routine. I’ve decided to cut out cheese, bread and sweets throughout the week (Monday – Friday). Saturday will be my cheat day for these items but I’m not allowing myself to eat or drink any of the following: fried foods, soda or any other sugary drinks, pork, beef, any kind of cold cuts or sliced deli meats, creamy soups and salad dressings, and last but not least pizza.

I will focus on eating whole grains, nuts, fresh fruits, vegetables and lean meats (just turkey and chicken). I’ll be eating 4-5 small meals a day. Breakfast, lunch, an afternoon snack, dinner and sometimes a light snack before 9:00pm (depending on when and what I ate for dinner). I’ll be drinking 8-10 glasses of water every day and drinking a small cup of almond milk for calcium, as I don’t drink regular milk.

The Last Supper
Today is October 24th and it’s literally the last day of my care free eating life. Today is my last day to eat, drink and be merry and believe me I’m going to live it up.

I’ll be posting everyday so you can follow my ups and downs. You’ll be able to track when I fall off the wagon and the steps I take to get back on. I look forward to this challenge and I hope this will motivate others to take control and do what’s best for their bodies and their lives.

#diet, #exercise-2, #food, #food-lover, #weight-loss-2